Frequently Asked Questions
- Non-Residents: Here it is in a Nutshell...
- Our Most Frequently Asked Question By Virginians: Are you sure this class will be accepted by my circuit court?
- Our Second Most Frequently Asked Question: The video stopped playing... what do I do?
- Our Third Most Frequently Asked Question: My printer does not work. Can I print the certificate later?
- Is my Credit Card information safe?
- Don’t you have to fire a gun to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit?
- Does having a Virginia Concealed Permit exempt a person from the one handgun purchase in 30 days law?
- Can the video be paused and resumed?
- How long does the test take and what is its level of difficulty? What is a passing score?
- What if I fail the test?
- How do I apply for a resident Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit?
- Where do I get the Concealed Handgun Permit application form?
- Do I need to take the class if I am/was in the military?
- My friend got his permit in 10 days in his city of residence and mine took 6 weeks in a different city. Why the difference?
- Concealed Handgun Permits are issued for five years. When should I apply for its renewal?
- Is this class accepted to qualify for a Virginia non-resident Concealed Handgun Permit?
- Will my e-mail address ever be sold to a marketing company?
- Why was it necessary to change Virginia law to recognize online classes?
1. Non-Residents... here it is in a nutshell: If your state of residence recognizes a Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit, then you may be able to obtain and use a Virginia Non-Resident Permit for concealed handgun carry in your home state (current known exceptions to this are Florida, Indiana, Michigan and South Carolina). Once you have taken this class and printed your Certificate of Completion, you have qualified to apply for a Virginia Non-Resident Concealed Handgun Permit issued by the Virginia State Police. The cost for a 5-year permit is $100.00; fingerprints must be furnished with your completed application, as well as two passport-sized photographs.
2. Our Most Frequently Asked Question: Are you sure this class will be accepted by my Virginia circuit court? Yes. Our certificate is accepted by every circuit court in Virginia for resident permit issuance, and by the Virginia State Police for their issuance of non-resident permits. Since July 1, 2009, it must be accepted as a matter of law.
3. Our Second Most Frequently Asked Question: The video stopped playing... what do I do? If you are a frequent internet user, you probably have many temporary files taking up space that your video player needs to work properly. If this happens, simply click the "Online Help" tab at the top of this screen or on the homepage for instructions on how to clear those temporary files. The second "fix" is to download the latest version of Adobe Flash Player by using the link provided on the same page.
4. Our Third Most Frequently Asked Question: My printer does not work. Can I print the certificate later? Yes. Simply save the certificate file until your printer is working. For your convenience, a copy of your certificate is automatically e-mailed to you upon completion of the class. Also, you can log in to your account and print your certificate at any time.
5. Is my Credit Card information safe? Yes. With nearly 30,000 online transactions, we have not had the first report that a person's credit card information had been compromised.
6. Don’t you have to fire a gun to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit?
No. Virginia law calls for taking a firearms training OR a safety class. Learning handgun safety does not entail live fire, shooting for a minimum score, or even touching a gun. This course satisfies Virginia law in that it teaches firearms safety. For anyone who wants to develop or improve marksmanship skills, we recommend learning firearms training from a professional instructor using live fire and shooting for a minimum score. This class provides a strong foundation for one to begin live fire training.
7. Does having a Virginia Concealed Permit exempt a person from the one handgun purchase in 30 days law? The One-Handgun-In-A-30-Day-Law was repealed effective July 1, 2012.
8. Can the video be paused and resumed? Yes. We recommend watching the instructional video in its entirety, without interruption; however, there are bound to be times when that is simply not possible. It is perfectly alright to pause the streaming video.
9. How long does the test take and what is its level of difficulty? What is a passing score?
The test consists of 20 questions of different types: True/False, Multiple Choice, and Fill-In-The-Blank. No two tests are alike. Test completion times have ranged from as little as 5 minutes to as many as 12 minutes. Speed is not important; reading and understanding what is being asked is. Take as little or as much time as you think necessary. If you watch the video and immediately take the test, the higher your score will tend to be. A passing score is 75% (15 of 20) correct.
10. What if I fail the test?
Better than 99.9% of everyone who has taken the class has passed the test on the first attempt. This does not mean that the test is easy; we feel it reflects the quality of instruction given here. As part of the price you pay for the class, those who do not pass the first time are given another opportunity to retake the test at no additional charge. The cost to retake the test a third time is $9.99.
11. How do I apply for a resident Virginia Concealed Handgun Permit?
Apply through the clerk’s office of the circuit court in the city or county you reside. Some localities require fingerprinting, some don’t. By law, the court must issue your permit within 45 days from the acceptance of your application. Localities set the fee for the permit they issue, but under no circumstance may they charge more than $50.00.
12. Where do I get the Concealed Handgun Permit application form?
Right here. You may download the application from this site, from the Virginia State Police web site, or in person at any circuit court clerk’s office. If filling out the form at home, do not sign it until you are in front of a clerk at the circuit court, since it is necessary for them to notarize your signature.
13. Do I need to take the class if I am/was in the military? No. Virginia recognizes your military service as qualification to obtain a permit. Take your military I.D. card and a copy of your orders showing that you are duty-stationed in Virginia to the circuit court in the locality in which you reside. Retired military should take a copy of their DD-214 form as evidence of military service.
14. My friend got his permit in 10 days in his city of residence and mine took 6 weeks in a different city. Why the difference?
There is no reason why there should be such a difference, except that each clerk’s office works at its own speed. You must apply in the city in which you reside, so you can’t “shop around” for the most efficient clerk’s office. Virginia law does require that the permit be issued within 45 days.
15. Concealed Handgun Permits are issued for five years. When should I apply for its renewal? We suggest that a renewal application be submitted 90 days prior to the expiration of your current permit. Unlike DMV and driver's license renwals, the circuit court is not required to send a renewal notification. Once expired, you must undergo fingerprinting again (in some localities) and re-submit your Certificate of Completion to the court. Ninety days provides more than enough time for renewal, and the court is required by law to re-issue a permit within 45 days. The new renewal date will begin from the date your old permit expires.
16. Is this class accepted to qualify for a Virginia non-resident Concealed Handgun Permit? Yes. Virginia non-resident permits are issued by the Virginia State Police. Visit their website, www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms.shtm for details and to order an application packet.
17. Will my e-mail address ever be sold to a marketing company? No.
18. Why was it necessary to change Virginia law to recognize online classes? Because it was not specifically excluded in Virginia law, online training to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit had been permitted since 1995 when the concealed carry law was last rewritten. Unfortunately, a handful of judges throughout the Commonwealth brought their personal beliefs to court to re-interpret the law rather than to administer it. We are pleased that on April 8, 2009, the General Asembly of Virginia formally recognized online safety training as the law of the Commonwealth by adding language to §18.2-308 (G) (7) and (P1)(7) that even a judge can understand. Overriding the Governor's veto by 28-10 in the Senate and by 73-23 in the House of Delegates, Senate Bill 1528 became law on July 1, 2009.
Have a question not covered here?
Drop us a line by contacting us.
We will respond as quickly as possible.